Outburst

The Christmas lights in Umhlanga offered me the opportunity to try out a zoom effect I learnt from Rikus Swanepoel. The idea is to shoot at a relatively slow shutter speed whilst quickly zooming out. A tripod is necessary to ensure that the focus point in the middle keeps still. I was quite impressed by the dramatic outcome.

Chrisefranklin-117

Only once I offloaded the images onto my computer did I realize that the lines have a dotted effect due to the vibration reduction (image stabilization) on my lens. Switching this off will smooth out the lines. Do you think it would’ve looked better without the vibration reduction?

9 thoughts on “Outburst

Leave a Reply

