Street Photography

The art of street photography has recently captured my interest. Although there isn’t a specific definition for street photography it is widely regarded as capturing candid moments in public spaces where people interact with their environment. I find it fascinating how a still image of a seemingly mundane moment can tell such an interesting story.

ISO 200 \\ 50mm \\ f4.0 \\ 1/160sec

Although the opportunity for street photography in my hometown is somewhat limited I have been inspired by following photography blogs of quite a few talented street photographers from around the world:

However, here in Umhlanga, where I am currently on holiday, there seem to be endless opportunities for street photography. There is a wide walkway running all along a busy stretch of the beach where many interesting characters and scenes can be found.

So keep an eye out for my next few posts as I feature some of my first attempts at street photography!

ISO 250 \\ 50mm \\ f2.8 \\ 1/1250sec

6 thoughts on “Street Photography

  1. [Gm]

    Wow, thanks for noticing and mentioning my photoblog, Chris :-).

    I believe the beauty, and the fun side, of Street Photography is that it happens everywhere, all the time. You don’t have to wait for the golden hour, you don’t have to travel to a certain place, you don’t need a special tool (lens, camera, etc) to capture them. You still need a camera, though :D….

    If I may add, here is one of my favorite street photographers:
    Lee Chapman of tokyotimes.org

    I have several other favorite Street Photographer, but I think akismet would consider my comment as spam if I post too many links :D…

    Anyway, enjoy Street Photography 🙂

    Reply
  2. Christakis Schinis

    Hi Chris, I agree with Helder’s comment, the second shot really stands out. You have managed to capture the story well which is exactly what street photography is all about. Telling a story in a single frame. If this this is your first street shots, I’m really looking forward to what is yet to come.

    Thanks for the shout-out and linking to my website, honoured that you like my work enough to cite it.

    PS: No place is limited for street photography. The possibilities are endless, even at your home town. It always seems that the grass is greener on the other side, but it’s not. Enjoy the rest of your holidays!

    Reply
  3. Rikus Swanepoel

    Hey Chris, hierdie foto vang ‘n paar ‘n paar dinge eie aan Suid Afrika vas, ek likit! Die bediende het tien teen een die mense vir wie sy werk se baba vir ‘n stappie geneem, en nou rus sy op ‘n bankie om haar nuwe selfoon se kamerafunksie uit te toets. Of haar oë is te swak so sy moet haar sms’e so lees. Goeie foto!

    Reply
  4. paolo

    i think they are both good. in the first i like how those guys are deeply interested in the items on the stand, the second is far more beautiful because there’s not only expression but also emotions.
    bravo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

